Students and Alumni to share mentoring experience in UNK’s Gold Torch Society

Kristin Howard
308.865.8126 OR

Through the Gold Torch Society, a group of alumni women are lending their guidance, encouragement and career experience to young women at UNK.

The group’s second annual meeting is set for September 20-21, 2002. The meeting will feature sessions and round tables covering topics including balancing career and family, starting a business, advancements using technology and others. Alumni and students will have the opportunity to network and establish mentoring relationships.

Sponsored by the UNK Alumni Association, the Gold Torch Society provides alumni the opportunity to return to campus and share a weekend of activities and special events with a select group of UNK undergraduate women.

“The society’s alumni members are strong, successful women from a variety of backgrounds including education, politics, medicine, business and journalism,” said Jim Rundstrom, executive director of the UNK Alumni Association. “The Association is excited about the society’s potential for bringing alumni and students together and creating a unique networking setting.”

Alumni are nominated for a three-year membership in the society. Student membership is only one year and is by application only. Twenty-two UNK alumni are participating this year. Alphabetically by town they are:

Fort Calhoun – Tammy Morer-Urdahl, 1980
Hastings – Betty Kort, 1964
Kearney – Barb Friskopp, 1979; Karen Rhoads, 1981
Lincoln – Dr. Lisa Blankenau, 1982; Dianne Dempewolf Brown, 1962; Karen Kilgarin, 1979; Shelly Kulhanek, 1988; Suzanne Oldham, 1971; Sen. DiAnna Rebman Schimek, 1963
Omaha – Peggy Kelley, 1972; Molly Maguire, 1989
Paxton – Janell Godberson Beveridge, 1979


Burbank – Judith Henggeler Spohr, 1963

South Barrington – Joyce Strout, 1970

Fishers – JoAn Scott, 1986

South Sioux City – Heidi Jo Blair-Esteves, 1995
Urbandale – Jennifer Jennings Davis, 1993
West Des Moines – Alicia Feldman, 1993

 – Tanis Hall Goedert, 1994
Shawnee Mission – Brenda VanLengen, 1988

New Ulm – Shawnna Wach Silvius, 1996

Twenty-five UNK undergraduate women were selected as members of the society. Alphabetically by hometown they are:

Axtell – Heather R. Colling
Beatrice – Kristy Kumm, Heather Mentgen
Dorchester – Crystal Kahle
Elkhorn – Emily Ohm
Gering – Jody Trautman
Grand Island – Michelle Kruse
Kearney – Rebecca G. Addy, Brooke Peterson
Lincoln – Kelly Maureen Walter
Newman Grove – Brenda Kay Borg
North Platte – Tamina Louise Eshleman, Jessica Dawn Goebel
Omaha – Bridget Bergman, Kristeen Dostal, Stacey Schnauber
Ogallala – Loree Knispel
Rosalie – Julie M. Bray
Scottsbluff – Stacy Ruth Smith
Waverly – Amy N. Dix

Rosemount – Jamin Mrkvicka

Japan – Hiromi Sasaki, Mayuko Komatsu, Miwa Suzuki, Runa Dobashi