UNK-The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) invites nominations for its 56th Annual Awards Program.

“The Annual Awards Program is the most prestigious recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of local, regional, and state history,” said Virginia Lund, AASLH State Awards Chair.

The AASLH hopes to encourage standards of excellence on each project by focusing on the presentation of the accomplishments of each individual and organization. The awards program recognizes outstanding achievements in local, regional, and state history.

Nominations are encouraged for unusually meritorious work with special considerations given to new and promising ideas, approaches, and other innovative interpretation of the local, regional, or state history. AASLH confers awards on a variety of projects including education programs and exhibits, publications, and videos. Individuals making outstanding contributions to the field of state and local history are also eligible for the AASLH awards.

Deadline for nominations is March 1, 2001, and they must be submitted with proper documentation to the appropriate state awards chair. For further information, award guidelines, and nomination forms contact Virginia L. Lund, AASLH State Awards Chair, Frank House Curator, 2010 W. 24th St., Kearney, NE 68845-4908, telephone (308) 865-8254, fax (308) 237-4275, or e-mail: lundv@unk.edu.