Alumni Association Elects New Officers

UNK-Lori Lienhart Waters (Class of 1974) is the newly elected president of the University of Nebraska at Kearney Alumni Association.

Waters, a math teacher at Irving Middle School in Lincoln, assumed the duties at the association’s annual board of directors meeting in conjunction with Homecoming in November. Waters replaces Judith Henggeler Spohr (Class of 1963) of Burbank, Calif.

Other newly-elected officers are John Ryan (class of 1982) of Omaha, president-elect, and Mike Fitzpatrick (Class of 1963), of Omaha, secretary.

Eight board members completed three-year terms on the board and are now trustees of the association. They are Jon Abegglen (Class of 1975) of Kearney; Bentley Benson (Class of 1983) of Minden; Jeff Blackmon (Class of 1978) of Olathe, Kan.; Bob Desch (Class of 1959) of Portland, Ore.; Jeri McCracken (Class of 1981) of Aurora, Colo.; Ronette Bush Ripp (Class of 1989) of Pleasanton; Judy Kreutz Thompson (Class of 1966) of North Platte; and Larry Wiederspan (Class of 1976) of Kearney.

New board members are Geoff Hall (Class of 1983) of Blair; Jean Shearer Mattson (Class of 1981) of Kearney; Jeffie Wiggins-McMullen (Class of 1976, MBA 1997) of Kearney; Sharon George Peck (Class of 1962) of North Platte; Denise Powell (Class of 1985) of Vacaville, Calif.; Dan Prichard (Class of 1992) of Olathe, Kan.; Tammy Moerer-Urdahl (Class of 1980) of Fort Calhoun; and Wayne Walker (Class of 1952) of Yorba Linda, Calif.