UNK- At the University of Nebraska at Kearney Student Support Services (SSS) fall semester Awards/Recognition Social, seven UNK students were given awards that recognized their scholarship, dedication and achievement.

Awarded annually by SSS, the Outstanding Student award is given to students who exemplify the successful blend of ability, work ethic and spirit of the pursuit of excellence while attending UNK. The award is also presented to students for their commitment to scholarship, dedication to involvement and personal achievement. The fall 1999 recipients of the SSS Outstanding Student award are Jennifer Perry, a sophomore from Grand Island, and Alexis Regan, a junior from Omaha.

The Pacesetter award is also presented annually to freshman students involved in the SSS program who have demonstrated that they are developing the necessary skills, habits and motivation to become successful students. Their academic achievement is recognized along with their continued pursuit of success at UNK. The Fall 1999 recipients of the SSS Pacesetter award are Cody Alexander, Kearney; Allison Arehart, Orchard; Sherry Dye, Kearney; Kevin Hesser, Lincoln; Kristy Steward, Parks.

The SSS program is designed to provide a variety of services and support systems to students who are first generation college students, those with low income, or students with disabilities. It is also primarily a retention program for students who qualify under federal guidelines for TRIO programs.